
Early Childhood Education NZ: Qualifications, Pay and Courses
Most people searching for early childhood education in New Zealand want three things fast: the qualification they need, how long it takes, and what the job pays. The qualification side is easier to map than the pay side, and Tahatu, the Careers NZ study guide, puts Level 7 graduate certificates and diplomas at about two years of study, which is the first number worth knowing before you enrol.
Graduate Diploma length: about 2 years for Level 7 graduate diplomas (Tahatu, Careers NZ study guide) · Centre placement in the NZTC Graduate Diploma: 80 days full-time Field Practice (New Zealand Tertiary College (ECE tertiary provider)) · Level 4 certificate: 60 credits, $0 fees (Open Polytechnic (distance-learning provider))
Quick snapshot
- The Level 4 NZ2850 certificate carries 60 credits and $0 fees (Open Polytechnic, distance-learning provider) (Ministry of Education (ECE regulator))
- Home-based educators must hold a recognised qualification or be working toward one within 6 months of starting (Ministry of Education (ECE regulator))
- Overseas early childhood qualifications must be assessed by NZQA (Ministry of Education, ECE regulator) (Ministry of Education (ECE regulator))
- The input plan’s 10-month diploma length and 16-week placement have no source; the NZTC page lists 80 days of field practice (New Zealand Tertiary College, ECE tertiary provider) (OECE (early childhood sector body))
- No current 2026 teacher pay scale was found; the latest table is effective 1 December 2023 (OECE (early childhood sector body))
- Hourly nursery rates and the highest-paying early childhood role are unverified (OECE (early childhood sector body))
- Existing home-based educators had until to be enrolled in a qualifying course (Ministry of Education, ECE regulator)
- The full pay parity Step 1 salary took effect on (OECE, early childhood sector body)
- The Level 5 field-based diploma (NZ2851, 120 credits) is designed to align with the first year of a Bachelor of Education, but it does not lead to teacher registration (Manukau Institute of Technology (tertiary provider))
- Graduate-level entry requires a bachelor’s degree or an advanced certificate or diploma (Tahatu, Careers NZ study guide) (Manukau Institute of Technology (tertiary provider))
Eight rows, one pattern: the sourced figures cluster around credits and fees, while study length and pay are where the sources thin out.
| Label | Value |
|---|---|
| Graduate Diploma duration | About 2 years for Level 7 graduate diplomas (Tahatu, Careers NZ study guide) |
| NZTC Graduate Diploma credits | 160 credits, 2026 domestic tuition fee of $10,005 (New Zealand Tertiary College, ECE tertiary provider) |
| Field Practice in the NZTC Graduate Diploma | 80 days full-time, plus at least 16 hours per week in a licensed centre (New Zealand Tertiary College, ECE tertiary provider) |
| Level 4 certificate (NZ2850) | 60 credits, $0 fees (Open Polytechnic, distance-learning provider) |
| Level 5 diploma (NZ2851) | 120 credits, $6,080 fees (Open Polytechnic, distance-learning provider) |
| Bachelor of Teaching (ECE) level | Level 7, 360 credits (NZQA (national qualifications authority)) |
| Home-based educator enrolment deadline | (Ministry of Education, ECE regulator) |
| Full pay parity Step 1 salary | $57,358 ($27.58/hour), effective (OECE, early childhood sector body) |
The input plan lists a 10-month, full-time length and a 16-week centre placement for the Graduate Diploma. Neither figure has a source in the research. Tahatu puts Level 7 graduate diplomas at about two years, and NZTC lists 80 days of field practice. This guide uses the sourced figures.
What is the difference between childcare and early childhood education?
The research notes do not define childcare and early childhood education as separate service types, so this section sticks to what the qualification system confirms. New Zealand early childhood training sits on the NZQF, which the NZQA (national qualifications authority) describes as having ten levels, with Level 1 the least complex and Levels 8 to 10 the most complex, including postgraduate study.
Open Polytechnic, a distance-learning provider, gives the simplest working split: Levels 1 to 4 sit roughly alongside secondary school and basic trades training, while Levels 5 to 7 match university study (Open Polytechnic, distance-learning provider).
- What the sources do not separate: no childcare-only qualification track appears in the research, so “childcare” in this guide means the NZQF levels the sources name.
Three routes, one pattern: the shorter the study, the lower the total fee, but the Bachelor’s total sits well above both diploma-level options.
| Route | Study length | Fee range |
|---|---|---|
| Advanced certificate or diploma (Level 5–7) | About 1 year, 120 credits (Tahatu (Careers NZ study guide)) | $5,000 to $6,600 (Tahatu) |
| Graduate certificate or diploma (Level 7) | About 2 years (Tahatu, Careers NZ study guide) | $6,800 to $8,600 (Tahatu) |
| Bachelor of Teaching (ECE), Open Polytechnic (Level 7, 360 credits) | Not stated in the sources | $18,240 total (Open Polytechnic, distance-learning provider) |
A Level 4 certificate costs $0 at Open Polytechnic, while its Level 7 Bachelor of Teaching totals $18,240. For career changers, the qualification level decides cost and time far more than the service label does.
The implication: compare qualification levels, not service names, before you enrol.
What is the minimum qualification to work in childcare?
The clearest rule in the research applies to home-based services. Every educator in a home-based early learning service must hold a home-based service qualification or, within 6 months of starting, be working toward one (Ministry of Education, ECE regulator). The research does not show one national minimum for every childcare role.
- A Level 4 or higher ECE qualification on the NZQF (Ministry of Education, ECE regulator)
- An early childhood qualification recognised by the Teaching Council (Ministry of Education, ECE regulator)
- A Level 3 ECE qualification completed before (Ministry of Education, ECE regulator)
- A primary teaching qualification, or a Level 5-plus qualification developed by Te Kōhanga Reo National Trust Board (Ministry of Education, ECE regulator)
Existing educators get longer runways. An early childhood teaching qualification at Level 7 or above must be completed within 4 years of enrolment, and any other qualification within 2 years (Ministry of Education, ECE regulator).
What is level 4 in childcare?
- Credits and fees: the NZ2850 certificate carries 60 credits and $0 fees (Open Polytechnic, distance-learning provider)
- Level context: Levels 1 to 4 sit roughly alongside secondary school and basic trades training (Open Polytechnic, distance-learning provider)
- Scope: the research does not describe what a Level 4 course teaches, so the scope is unverified
Four checks before you enrol:
- Confirm whether your service is home-based, because the Ministry rules apply there.
- Check that the qualification is recognised: a Level 4 or higher ECE qualification on the NZQF is on the Ministry list.
- If the qualification is overseas, arrange NZQA assessment.
- If you already work as an educator, count your deadline from enrolment: 4 years for a Level 7 teaching qualification, 2 years for any other.
The catch: a 6-month window sounds generous until you count it from your first day of work rather than your first day of study.
What is the difference between level 2 and level 3 in childcare?
Levels 2 and 3 are where the research is thinnest. The Future Skills (tertiary provider) Level 2 certificate is the clearest entry point: 60 credits, free, 16 weeks, and no academic qualifications required. On the Level 3 side, the Tahatu entry certificates in ECE teaching run Level 1 to 3 at 60 credits, about six months, with $0 student fees (Tahatu (Careers NZ study guide)).
Eight qualifications, one pattern: Level 1 to 4 entry options cost nothing, and fees appear only from Level 5 upward.
| Qualification | Level | Credits | Duration | Fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NZ Certificate in Early Learning and Care | 2 | 60 | 16 weeks | Free (Future Skills, tertiary provider) |
| Entry certificate in ECE teaching | 1–3 | 60 | About 6 months | $0 (Tahatu, Careers NZ study guide) |
| NZ Certificate in ECE and Care (NZ2850) | 4 | 60 | Not stated | $0 (Open Polytechnic, distance-learning provider) |
| NZ Diploma in ECE and Care (NZ2851) | 5 | 120 | Not stated | $6,080 (Open Polytechnic, distance-learning provider) |
| Advanced certificates and diplomas | 5–7 | 120 | About 1 year | $5,000 to $6,600 (Tahatu, Careers NZ study guide) |
| Graduate certificates and diplomas | 7 | Not stated | About 2 years | $6,800 to $8,600 (Tahatu, Careers NZ study guide) |
| NZTC Graduate Diploma in Teaching (ECE) | 7 | 160 | Not stated | 2026 fee $10,005 (New Zealand Tertiary College, ECE tertiary provider) |
| Bachelor of Teaching (ECE), NZTC | 7 | 360 | Not stated | 2027 domestic fee $7,918 per year (New Zealand Tertiary College, ECE tertiary provider) |
A Level 3 ECE qualification completed before counts as a recognised home-based qualification, according to the Ministry’s rules. The research does not confirm whether later Level 3 study carries the same weight.
What can I do with a level 3 childcare qualification?
- Confirmed: a Level 3 ECE qualification completed before the cut-off counts for home-based services (Ministry of Education, ECE regulator)
- Not confirmed: specific job titles or pay for Level 3 holders appear nowhere in the sources
- Unverified: whether a Level 3 childcare certificate opens centre-based roles, since no source covers it
For home-based work, the 1 June 2022 completion date matters as much as the level. Two Level 3 holders with the same qualification can sit on different sides of the cut-off.
What is a first year teacher’s salary in NZ?
The clearest first-year figure in the research is the Step 1 salary under full pay parity: $57,358 ($27.58/hour), effective , for a beginner teacher holding a practising certificate (OECE, early childhood sector body). OECE is a Tier 2 sector body, and the research did not find a current Ministry pay scale for 2026.
Three pay figures, one pattern: every teacher salary in the sources dates from 2019 or 2023, so none shows today’s rate.
| Pay point | Figure | Date or source |
|---|---|---|
| Unified base scale, Step 1 for trained teachers | $48,410 | (OECE (sector body, pay-parity campaign)) |
| Beginning teacher in non-kindergarten ECE | $45,491 ($21.87 per hour) | 2019 campaign booklet (OECE, sector body, pay-parity campaign) |
| Full pay parity, Step 1 | $57,358 ($27.58/hour) | (OECE, early childhood sector body) |
Pay equity adds another layer. Health New Zealand treated the NZQA Level 5 Diploma of Teaching (Early Childhood Education) as equivalent to the Level 4 New Zealand Certificate in Health and Wellbeing (Advanced Support) for pay equity purposes (Health New Zealand (government health agency)).
How much is an hour at nursery?
- Hourly nursery rate: unverified, with no source in the research
- Closest sourced figure: $21.87 per hour for a beginning trained teacher in non-kindergarten ECE, from the 2019 campaign booklet (OECE, sector body, pay-parity campaign)
- Use with care: that is a 2019 teacher rate, not a nursery rate
The 2023 Step 1 figure is the newest first-year pay point in the sources, and it is a scale starting point, not a guaranteed offer. Any budget built on it should be checked against a current scale.
What this means: the first-year number is usable as a benchmark, but not as a current quote.
What is the highest paying job in early childhood?
The research does not rank early childhood roles by pay, so no job can be named as the highest-paying one from these sources. What the sources do show is that pay depends on centre type and pay-parity status. Pay-parity status is tracked by the OECE (early childhood sector body), which publishes the scales for both partial and full parity.
The highest teacher steps in the sources are the maximum steps for P1 to 3 teachers: $81,112 ($39.00 per hour) under partial pay parity and $92,175 ($44.31 per hour) under full pay parity, both as of . These are the top steps of one scale, not a ranking of roles.
According to Future Skills (tertiary provider), 96 percent of education and care centres have opted into pay parity for teachers, with 42 percent on full parity. The research flags that figure as unverified against a primary source.
Where do preschool teachers get paid the most?
- Confirmed: the highest sourced teacher step is the P1 to 3 maximum of $92,175 under full pay parity (OECE, early childhood sector body)
- Not confirmed: whether preschool roles sit on the same scale, because the sources do not say
- Unverified: any claim that preschool teachers out-earn other early childhood teachers
The teacher scale has a clear top step, yet the sources publish no equivalent figure for most other early childhood roles. That gap, not the top step, is the real finding.
The trade-off: a teacher-led role offers a published ceiling, while other roles offer no published number to compare against.
Confirmed facts
- The Level 4 NZ2850 certificate carries 60 credits and $0 fees (Open Polytechnic)
- The full parity Step 1 salary is $57,358 ($27.58/hour), effective 1 December 2023 (OECE)
- Educators joining a home-based service have 6 months to enrol in a qualifying course (Ministry of Education)
- Overseas early childhood qualifications must be assessed by NZQA (Ministry of Education)
What’s unclear
- A current 2026 Ministry pay scale: not found in the research
- An hourly nursery rate: no source
- The highest-paying early childhood role: no ranking in the sources
- Level-by-level childcare differences beyond credits and fees: not covered
- The input plan’s birth-to-6 age range and 10-month diploma length: no source
- Future Skills’ pay-parity opt-in shares: tier 3, not verified against a primary source
“Levels 1-4 are about the same as secondary school and basic trades training. Levels 5-7 are the same as university study.”
Open Polytechnic (distance-learning provider), tertiary guidance
“All home-based early learning services must meet the requirements set out in the regulations.”
Ministry of Education (ECE regulator), government agency guidance
“Graduates will be able to work as entry-level carers, educators, and caregivers in a range of early childhood contexts.”
Future Skills (tertiary provider), course description
The research shows a qualification ladder that is documented in detail and a pay picture that is documented thinly. A reader planning study costs can rely on the Tahatu and provider figures, but should treat every pay number as dated until a current Ministry scale appears. For a prospective home-based educator, the Ministry sets the test: enrol in a course that offers a recognised home-based qualification within six months of starting, or set a dated plan to work toward one.
Related reading: baby monitor guide for parents · questions to ask in an interview
nztertiarycollege.ac.nz, openpolytechnic.ac.nz, nztertiarycollege.ac.nz, nztertiarycollege.ac.nz
Frequently asked questions
Where can I find early childhood education courses in New Zealand?
Providers named in the research include Open Polytechnic (distance-learning provider), New Zealand Tertiary College (ECE tertiary provider), Manukau Institute of Technology (tertiary provider), and Future Skills (tertiary provider), which offers a free Level 2 certificate.
Can early childhood education in New Zealand be studied online?
Yes, for some routes. Open Polytechnic states that its distance-learning early childhood courses are offered up to 12 times per year, depending on demand and staff availability (Open Polytechnic, distance-learning provider). The NZTC Bachelor of Education is offered online and blended and does not require practice placements (New Zealand Tertiary College, ECE tertiary provider).
What do early childhood education courses in New Zealand cost?
Fees depend on the level. Level 4 is $0 and Level 5 is $6,080 at Open Polytechnic (Open Polytechnic, distance-learning provider). Tahatu lists advanced certificates and diplomas at $5,000 to $6,600 and graduate certificates and diplomas at $6,800 to $8,600 (Tahatu, Careers NZ study guide). The NZTC Bachelor’s 2027 domestic tuition fee is $7,918 per year (New Zealand Tertiary College, ECE tertiary provider).
Can international students study early childhood education in New Zealand?
The research shows one international fee: the NZTC Bachelor of Teaching (ECE) lists $28,000 per year for international students (New Zealand Tertiary College, ECE tertiary provider). Visa and entry rules are not covered in the research. Overseas early childhood qualifications used for licensed work must be assessed by NZQA (Ministry of Education, ECE regulator).
What is the Graduate Diploma of Teaching (Early Childhood Education) in New Zealand?
At New Zealand Tertiary College it is a Level 7 qualification worth 160 credits, with a 2026 domestic tuition fee of $10,005. It requires 80 days of full-time Field Practice and at least 16 hours per week of work in a licensed early childhood centre (New Zealand Tertiary College, ECE tertiary provider). Tahatu lists Level 7 graduate diplomas at about two years of study (Tahatu, Careers NZ study guide).